United Kingdom – POINTS OF INTEREST – Nature – National Parks

National parks of the United KingdomThe United Kingdom has 14 national parks, 12 in England and Wales and 2 in Scotland. A 15th national park is proposed in the South Downs.For details of the status of the national parks in the United Kingdom and for links to each individual one, please see the articles about the various parts of the UK.

List of National Parks in the United Kingdom 

  England and Wales 
        Peak District  1951
        Lake District  1951        Snowdonia National Park (Parc Cenedlaethol Eryri)  1951

        Dartmoor  1951

        Pembrokeshire Coast National Park (Parc Cen. Arfordir Penfro)  1952
        North York Moors  1952
        Yorkshire Dales  1954
        Exmoor  1954
        Northumberland National Park  1956
        Brecon Beacons (P. C. Bannau Brycheiniog)  1957
        The Broads National Park  1988
        New Forest  2005
          South Downs National Park
        Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park  2002
        Cairngorms National Park  2003