General election in Denmark

Prime minister Helle Thorning-Schmidt has announced the next general election in Denmark. The election will be held on 18 June 2015.

General election in Denmark

General elections are a cornerstone of Danish democracy. This is where the electorate decides which candidates and political parties will be represented in the Danish Parliament, thereby influencing the future direction of Danish politics and society.

According to the Constitutional Act, there must be a general election at least once every four years. This means that Members of Parliament (MPs) hold their seats for a fixed term, but they can be re-elected. The Prime Minister is responsible for calling a general election before the electoral period expires, i.e. within four years, but an election may also be called earlier at the Prime Minister’s discretion.

Who can vote?

Danish citizens who have permanent residence in Denmark, Greenland or the Faroe Islands and are at least 18 years of age, the voting age in Denmark, are entitled to vote.

The turnout at general elections is high in Denmark compared to other countries, with 80-90 per cent of the electorate casting their vote.

Who can be elected?

To be eligible for election as a Member of the Danish Parliament, candidates must be entitled to vote in a general election, and must not have been convicted of an offence that makes the candidate unworthy to sit in the Parliament. Members of Parliament decide whether a candidate is worthy to sit in the Parliament.

Originally published at

The post General election in Denmark first appeared on Amsterdam Aesthetics.